Marcel Fengler - December 2011

Marcel Fengler - December 2011

Friday 9th Dec. Melbourne, Public Works Department
Saturday 10th Dec. Sydney, Disconnected

Techno according to Marcel Fengler has nothing to do with being a go‐getter or having an alternative career, it is way more than means to an end: it is his definitive and concentrated passion.

In Marcel Fengler's world, opposites attract. Ambient and electronica are equal parts in his sets that owe as much to the UK's progressive school of relentless techno as they do to that special "Berghain sound". A dictum created by music journalists and a description that is a diverging as Berghain's resident DJs. Being one of them since day one, Fengler made his very own and self‐confident contribution to that sound. He really
knows his craft.

Fengler's DJ sets are characteristically offensive and dynamic, hard and
consistent, but also surprising and emotional. In a realm that is dominated by technology and machines, his bright personality and the human aspect stay visible. You can feel his personal touch.

A similar versatility can also be found in his studio work. Marcel's fondness for synth pads goes along with gloomy electro, hard and steady‐paced techno doesn't compete with his sense for moods and deepness. His search for different parts that work as a whole is as visible here as it is in his DJ style. Marcel Fengler looks for quality over quantity. Nothing leaves his studio that hasn't passed this test. Neither artificial shortage of releases nor coyness, this behaviour is essentially Marcel Fengler: passion before purpose.


BERGHAIN 005 is currently out!

Berghain 5

01. Emika - Count Backwards (Marcel Dettmann Vocal Edit)
02. Peter van Hoesen - Axis Mundi (Exclusive, previously unreleased)
03. Terrence Dixon - Tranquility (Octagen Remix)
04. Byetone - Plastic Star (Dr. Walker Remix)
05. Tommy Four Seven - G (Regis Remix)
06. Marcel Fengler - Thwack (L.B. Dub Corp Remix) (previously unreleased)
07. Secret Cinema - Timeless Altitude (Minneapolis Mix)
08. Ratio - Double Feature
09. Gerd - Time and Space (Duplex Southside Mix)
10. Seiji - More Of You
11. Claude Young & Takasi Nakajima - Think Twice
12. Puresque - 001A (previously unreleased)
13. Ben Sims - Slow Motion (previously unreleased)
14. Vril - UV (Exclusive, previously unreleased)
15. Marcel Fengler - Sphinx (previously unreleased)
16. Skudge - Man On Wire (previously unreleased)
17. Reagenz - The Labyrinth (Exclusive, previously unreleased)
18. 20:20 Vision - Future Remembrance (20:20 Livestyle Mix)
19. Convextion aka E.R.P. - Vapor Pressure (previously unreleased)